Baked Ratatouille with Eggs

13 Apr

Baked Ratatouille with Eggs

Hi Everyone, I know I forgot about my recipe blog for a while but hopefully I will re-motivate now. I made this rataouille the other day and it was very tasty and then the next day I re-baked it with eggs on top and that was even more delicious.

The recipe for ratatouille is quite simple, and although there are lots of complicated ways to make a ratatouille I took the simplest approach. I bought eggplants, zucchini’s, red peppers, red onion, very ripe tomatoes, and garlic. I actually added some potatoes sliced very thin at the last minute even though they are not traditionally in ratatouille. Then I cut all those things into small chunks and put them in a baking pot with olive oil, salt, pepper, oregano, thyme and fresh parsley. The tomatoes I didn’t cut but crushed with my hands over the veggies in the pot to make a kind of crushed tomato sauce. Then I baked it covered for a few hours on low heat until everything was cooked.

Then the next day I took the leftovers, still in the pot, and cracked 5 eggs over the top and put the whole thing back in the oven, this time covered in more parsley, salt, pepper, and basil, and some parmesan cheese on top (or whatever hard cheese you have). Cook it until the eggs set, not too long or they get hard, and then enjoy with a salad (some hot sauce on the eggs also adds a nice touch).

For a salad I used ripe pears and some baby arugula with a sweet balsamic which was perfect as a side dish. So many veggies, so delicious! After a week of traveling to Mendoza, Argentina and eating steak every night this was the perfect meal!

[These pictures are actually not mine but look just like what I cooked. I only realized after eating this tasty meal that it was blogworthy]

Image         Image

Leave a comment